Hi Melanie

I think you need to engage with her, and really try to make it as much about her as possible.

After all, you’ve probably had years, if not decades to try to come to terms with the fact you need to dress, and she hasn’t.

She is trying to come to terms with her own feelings about this, and has a ton of questions she feels uncomfortable to ask in case it provokes arguments, or provides answers that she doesn’t want to hear.

She’ll have made a lot of incorrect assumptions, as most people turn to friends or Auntie Google, both of whom are brilliant for uninformed answers.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with anyone wanting to express themselves via clothing – so the biggest major hurdle is yourself.

You must either fully accept and embrace your feminine desires – chances are, they’ve been there as long as you can remember, and will never go away – or, alternatively, drop it.

I am not an expert, but from my own experience, and the written experiences of most ladies here, there’s no halfway house.

It’s a long process, so take it a step at a time.

The main things to focus on are

1. Your relationship with her. Was it going well before the dressing arose, or have there been fundamental issues for a while?

What attracted you to her and vice versa? You are still the same person, and a new person has not suddenly entered the relationship, even though it may seem that way to her. Concentrate on being the man she loves – you are still him.

Make time to plan an activity to do together, just the two of you.

2. Negotiating time for you. The vicar at the church I attended in the choir when young said the same thing to all couples he married: Love means giving the other person room to be themselves.

Maybe there’s something she’d like to do, like spend a day at a spa, see friends, etc.