Viewing 12 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      skippy1965 Cynthia
      Ambassador

As I look into the mirror, I am scared of what I see,
      Tear filled eyes return my stare and I can feel their plea.
      The person I’ve been hiding for so many, many years
      Is looking back at me, and I can see how much she fears
      That I will lock her up somewhere so no one else will know
      How she’s become so big a part of me-I just can’t show.
      The world is not so kind to those it does not understand-
      Who do not fit their images of woman or of man.

For some it’s all so clear- their body doesn’t match their mind,
      They know their only choices are to die or else to find
      A way to change their body and to free their inner soul.
      So finally they’ll have the chance to be complete and whole.

For me, though, it is not so clear-my thoughts seem all akimbo-
      I’ve lived my life not here nor there –instead I am in limbo.
      Not certain yet just who I am, I float from day to day-
      Grasping for signs of where my future lies but who can say,
      Though doubts and fears abound, I trust that SOMEWHERE there’s a plan-
      A reason for the way I feel –I just don’t understand.
      And though I’m so much older now and both my kids are grown
      And many times I feel my destiny’s to be alone-
      I somehow still hold out some hope that one day I may find
      One who will know the inner me and keep an open mind.
      Would they be male or female? I’m not sure that it would matter-
      For living life alone seems worse and certainly much sadder.

So guess I’ll close this out-I thank you all for your kind ears-
      Your friendship is so precious that it oft renews my tears.
      And to that frightened girl who from the silver mirror peers-
      “We’re one-and never will we part-we’re in our golden years!”

Gisela Claudine
      Duchess - Annual