• This topic has 34 replies, 16 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 16 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Anonymous
      Lady

I am on the verge of coming out to everyone at work. I have told 5 people at work who I felt were accepting and would keep it confidential until the appropriate time. I have found an overwhelming sense of acceptance and support from these people. It makes me feel confident that it will go well when I do. I don’t think I would even consider it if one of my best friends was not part of that accepting, supporting group at work.

I am not sure the best way to approach coming to work dressed. My workplace is a combination of sales, service, warehouse and administration. I am an Operations Manager who spends 80% of my time in the office and 20% in the shop and warehouse only to manage people.

I am looking for examples from any of you that have come out at work. How did you do it?

Anonymous

Dear Tina,

Congrats, I am happy for you! I am not out and I don’t think that it would go well at my work, so sorry, I can’t give any advice.

Amy

Anonymous

I am not out at work either.   Wouldn’t be taken well at all.  Good luck!

Coming out at work can sometimes be hard, I found that the best way was to contact HR and have a talk with them, I was accepted as a woman and no body said or did any thing to ruin.

Anonymous
        Lady

How did you go about it? Did you announce that you were CD then start dressing at work or just show up one day dressed or something else.

Leah
      Baroness

I would talk with Human Resources first to se what support and protections they have in place before you let the cat fully out of the bag.  As it can Never go back in!

What do you hope to gain by coming out at work?  being able to dress at work?  Relieve the stress of hiding?

Anonymous
        Lady