Tagged: 

Viewing 8 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

I was so happy and nervous yesterday. The girl who sits at the desk next to me seen my nails and asked me, “who does your nails”.  Telling her she asked if I was I was going to put color on them. I told her I was thinking about wearing color at work but wasn’t sure about it. Told her I have put color on them.  Suddenly, she asked about me transitioning. Instead of me feeling ashamed I felt free to express I was and how I wore clothes under my male clothes and that I had my toes painted. We did this in the open, so there was a nervousness that filled me inside wondering how many people heard what we were talking about. I spoke more to the girl on Skype about some of my struggles and about makeup and such. It was so nice to have girl talk at work.

Makes me wonder how much more I should try and at what pace not to cause trouble.

🤗😘

Jessica

Anonymous

Hi Jessica.

I am no expert on transitioning, not in my path in life, but I think that it may be a good idea that, now that the cat is out of the bag, you schedule an appointment to talk to HR or if it is a smaller company with your manager or supervisor. If they hear things from others, you can’t perform any damage control. If you are the one letting them know, you can provide them with information, and even let them know about anti-discriminatory policies in the state where you live and also what the company policies are. (Hopefully the law and the company policies are lgbt inclusive).

Good luck!

Gaby