Viewing 7 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

So, I’m pretty new to applying makeup.  I also have some pretty heavy facial hair (damn my Spanish and Italian genes, lol).  I’ve been using a concealer all over my beard area before applying my foundation.  I’ve tried using a concealer that’s slightly lighter than my foundation, which didn’t work.  Then I tried using a concealer that’s slightly darker than my foundation, which seems to work better but its still not quite perfect.

Would a color corrector be better for beard cover?  I wouldn’t know how to find the right shade, based off my skin tone.  I’m seeing purples, and greens, and oranges…  It’s kinda confusing.  Finding the right color corrector shade seems more complicated than finding the right concealer shade.

Anonymous

Hi Ruby.

May I make a suggestion? Just for practice use each one of the corrector colors (purple/green/orange on 1/4 of the area you want to correct, and then use some very red lipstick on the other 1/4)
      Make sure you leave a light application of each. Then go with the foundation like you normally do.

And now check which area seems to look better than the others. That will be the best corrective tone/color for you.
      Then you may need to fine-tune how much coverage you give with the corrector before the foundation.

I hope it made sense!

Thanks I’ll try that

Jecca Blac
      Professional

Hello,

We’ve created lots of content around covering beard shadow as we know its an area that people struggle with;

How To Cover Beard Shadow

How to Cover Beard Shadow – YouTube tutorial

Our Correct & Conceal Palette was specifically designed with beard shadow coverage in mind and each palette comes with a colour corrector and concealer suited to your skintone. We also offer a free shade matching service for anyone interested, which you can find here.