• This topic has 15 replies, 7 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 15 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Anonymous

My biggest interest is my genealogy. I have traced my family back to several kings, queens and other royalty including Charlemagne  and  Queen Elizabeth II. I go back to Rollo the first Viking b. 842 (?). Lizzie Borden, several US presidents. Edward Doty  b. 1598 of the Mayflower.

I have done DNA test through Ancestry and FTDNA and have found several cousins and ancestors. I’ve been doing my genealogy, on an off since 1959.  Who else enjoys family research.

Anonymous

Sa – man – tha,
      If you ever decide to do DNA I suggest you do it with Ancestry unless you want to follow your paternal Y-DNA line then you have to go through FTDNA. If you do a YDNA test do a minimum of a 37 marker test or else it is not worth doing the test.

Kathleen

I’ve been working on my family history actively on and off for maybe 12 years, seriously for the last 5 or 6. I had a major breakthrough a week or two ago. My 4th ggf and two of his sons lived in Indiana but married women in Clermont County, Ohio. For nearly a decade I wondered what was up with Ohio. I just figured out what was up with Ohio. (Inlaws I had failed to notice, one of whom was the richest man in the county at the time.)

The biggest surprise in my tree was the large group of ancestors I have that got caught up in one role or another in the Connecticut Witch Hunts and the Salem Witch Trials. Unexpected!