Viewing 33 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Anonymous

Hi ladies!

I have a theory that among those of us who crossdress, a larger percentge of us are musicians than the percentage of musicians among the rest of the population. A general statistic I found stated that 13% of the population consider themselves to be musicians (both professional and amateur), but my theory is that musicians are more creative in many ways than the general public, so there might be more crossdressers among them.

I know it’s true for me. I’ve been a musician (amateur) for most of my life, and I’ve met lots of other crossdressers and other transgender people who are also musicians. My main instrument is bass guitar these days (both electric and some doghouse, but I’m not that good on upright) and I’ve got several different ones to use for different types of music (4-string, 5-string, fretted, fretless). I also play most of the brass instruments. I picked up guitar decades ago, but I’m mostly a finger picker or rhythm player. Then some drums, banjo, and a few other assorted instruments. I also sing, both lead and harmony (but I really think I’m better at harmony).The styles of music I enjoy are literally everything, from classical, conjunto, jazz, rock, rap (the earlier stuff), show tunes, musicals, swing, big band, country (both classic and newer), Latin, African, many other geo-centric musical styles, military marches, Baroque, etc., etc., etc. and even a few pop tunes. My perspective on music is that the more I know, regardless of musical style, the better all of my music will be, because music crosses boundaries and styles merge (did you know that Conjunto is based on German pola?). If you listen closely you’ll hear lots of classical music references in rock music (listen to Emerson, Lake and Palmer and you’ll see what I mean).

For me, I define a musician as anyone who has knowledge of music and plays an instrument or sings.

So of course, that got me to wondering…