Viewing 27 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Nancy
      Lady

Any advice on how to get used to heels, when I’ve been wearing nothing but flat shoes for the last 50+ years? I have these 3 1/2 in booties that I want to wear out somewhere. But, I’m quickly realizing that I can’t just throw on a pair of heels and go. I wore them around the house for 1/2 hour or so yesterday morning, and my feet hurt all morning at work. Is there any better/faster way to adjust to heels? Or, do I need to just suck it up and wear them a little bit at a time until my feet/muscles stop hurting?

Birel

Just like you’re doing, Birel. A little bit at a time. You’ll get it.

Diane

As far as I know, there’s no shortcut. I will say that the higher the heel, the more difficult and painful it will be. Maybe you want to start with something smaller and work your way up? I’m already 6 feet tall, so I tend to limit myself to 2 inch tall heels or flats most of the time. Nothing feels more feminine than high heels, but I strive to look as passable as possible and most GGs who are this tall wear flats.

yes you are doing it right. I tell newbies to wear a 2 or 3 inch heel around the house for an hour a day and within a week or two you will master it. You dont have to be actually walking but just in the house so normal activities like washing dishes, vacuuming and other household task are fine. Even watching tv and having to get up every so often to go to the kitchen or bathroom is good practice and in no time you will feel comfy with them. Also a night time walk around the block or somewhere you feel comfortable. In two weeks you will be ready for short walks in a mall.

Practice, practice, practice!

Hi Birel Suck it up and practice Do buy a box of band aids when the blisters first appear before calicoes sets in. Then you can buy a tool that will remove callouses to help your feet look pretty while in pain.  Stephanie With all that we all still love our heels even if it just sometimes.