Viewing 6 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

How do I start putting on make-up? I have never tried it before.

Ashley
      Lady

I have tried it once. Which only taught me what a big learning curve there is. Lipstick and eye shadow were easy enough for me, but I’m going to have to learn how to do some serious contouring if I’m ever going to even come close to concealing my manly facial features.

Hi Cynthia

I wear make up every day. I advise to start light. Maybe some BB cream (a light foundation)and eyeliner. Once you have mastered this add something else like eyeshadow, nail polish or mascara and keep going.

The main problem you will encounter is the sheer volume of different makeup types. It is confusing. It might be worth getting a lesson. Otherwise try searching for beginners makeup on the internet. And when the store assistant asks if you need help, say yes. Don’t just say your just looking. They are paid to make sales so will not care your male. I have found them nothing but helpful in getting the right colour to suit me. This especially goes for foundation.

Also everyone wants to go full face makeup straight away. But without the practice you will end looking like a clown. Also avoid the bold colours for now. These will come later once you have the confidence. I hope this helps

K Swim
      Lady

I don’t wear makeup.

Sorry, I know that’s not the answer you were looking for, but I just wanted to say it anyway.

Gwenn Liefde
      Baroness

Starting with Mascara and Lipstick is always a safe bet. Then you can move on to eyeshadow and blush. Then if you feel like you need it to foundation and concealer.  YouTube is a great resource for “How to” videos.

Gwenn Liefde
        Baroness

Also, Pinterest has alot of great little videos too. Plus your can easily save a makeup board to go back and review whenever you want.

Anonymous