Viewing 34 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Harriette
      Lady

Since I am just getting started with filling in my closet, what is your opinion of not dressing age-appropriately in public?

I have good looking legs and warm weather is just about here, so I bought two denim miniskirts. When or where I can ever wear them outside I have no idea, but wow they feel so good on me. I need appropriate shirts or blouses to go with them, in good time.

How do you deal with this?

By your cameo picture and your leg description I would say dressing young is no problem.  Only  a few seniors like Trish White can pull it off.  She takes good care of herself and it shows.   I am 75, with the best makeover maybe pass for 65.   More important to dress as a normal woman would in the surroundings.  Blend in at first then branch out to suit your self.  When out, study what  women, women wear.  You’ll be fine  hugs

Harriette
        Lady

I have watched the fashion of a few older women, in fact elderly, and some of them can pull off younger fashion, but they do stand out.

Ladies like Trish  stand out, because they are beautiful, not because they look over 40 years younger.  Can’t wait to see your picture, ladies can ask ladies their age  so how young are you?

Harriette
            Lady

I will be 69 in October. I used to have people under guess my age, years ago. I don’t think that that will happen now. However, it has never been put to a test enfemme.

You are quite . possibly in the ball park with Trish,  did not think you were  6 yrs my junior.  You go girl , do your makeup right and you are the featured on site!   So proud of you youngster!

Anonymous

Since you are just starting out and likely still developing Harriette’s ‘look’, how do you want to be perceived? ‘In public’ can mean several things. A mini skirt doesn’t work well grocery shopping, but fine going clubbing.

Some girls want to make a bold fashion statement, most do not want undue attention.

Harriette