Viewing 6 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

I was on a 4 hour road trip along a major highway system which is not a fav of mine so I was dressed as comfy as possible. A short kilt, flats, silk blouse and the big girls up top…all good. After driving for a while in dense but decent traffic I noticed a police cruiser in my rear view, it wasn’t in a rush just moving with the pack, I noticed it coming up beside me on the passanger side where it remained for a short distance before dropping back and pulling in behind me. I didn’t think much of it as I’m a pretty safe driver, not a speeder and kinda anal about the use of turn signals, but sure enough a minute or so later the flashing lights came on. I made my way over to the shoulder, put the car in park, found the necessary I.D., and calmly waited.

A female officer got out and came up to the passanger side? window, I reasoned that it was obviously safer from traffic and would provide social distance but it felt odd anyway.

She pleasantly greeted me, accepted my license, assured me that I hadn’t broken any driving laws, and started apologizing. She politely asked what I prefered to be addressed by(pronoun) to which I answered male, female or my name as I’m not hung up on that kind of thing, and she explained(using my name) her reason for the stop. They are trained to notice things that seem out of place or don’t fit right and that when they were pulled along side of me she observed a very male face atop a seemingly female form, which BTW is my norm(who I am). Apparently after settling that in her mind she next wondered if in fact I might be “exposed”. Even from her current pont of view she wasn’t certain so had to ask, I adjusted my blouse to show the lace detail at the hem of my kilt. She was satisfied, commented on how calm and relaxed I had remained, handed back my paperwork and bid me a pleasant day and drive.

The entire experience was very polite and proffessional.