Viewing 7 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

Hi gals, I have always been abit of a lone wolf and found it hard to maintain multiple relationships at once. Never really extended myself to others or let too many in. I’m not good at maintaining multiple relationships, never have been.

Recently I’ve made some big life changes but still kept my inner core isolated. I’m trying to change this. Let others in more. I’m know im not the best at it but Ive gottta try. Fear is a powerful thing and I’ve always kept people at an arm’s length, because of it. Sad thing is it still runs my professional life, something else I need to sort.

In short I’m trying to grow as a person as much as I resist. Please be patient with me Im a slow learner sometimes.

Love Trisha

Trisha, the best I can advise you is to just relax and let people come as they will.  If they are interested in you as a person, they will approach you to get to know you, just as you would a new person you were interested in meeting.  Only run with the size of group you are comfortable with as there really is no competition to see how many friends you can accumulate, regardless of what hey say on Facebook.  Only maintain the relationships you are comfortable with.

If the relationship is becoming more than just platonic, set your ground rules with the person very early in the relationship, and if there is more than one romantic interest make sure that they know about the other(s) and understand that they don’t call the shots about who you like in ‘that’ way.

Friends will come and go, some move away then return and your friendship might just pick up where it left off with them, some you will need to get to know all over again.  Don’t limit yourself, but also don’t make it more than you can handle either.

I personally have a lot of acquaintance’s, but maybe only a few really good people that I consider as a friend.

• This reply was modified 2 years ago by Paula F.
      Anonymous

Trish.