Viewing 17 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Anonymous

An interesting poll asked how many of us are veterans which led me to ask how many of us were or are law enforcement.

Anonymous

Mina

No, I work in the car industry ..x

Anonymous

Retired steelworker.

30 years in a SoCal agency.  I’ve been retired for 16 years.

Anonymous

No, I was a wireless systems engineer. I worked mobile phones before there were networks in the US. At the end of my career I spent 6 years working on public safety networks, mostly fire and police systems.

Anonymous

Currently a United Methodist pastor waiting for a full LGBTQIA+ inclusive church where I can be my full self and serve.

I have been an EMT and firefighter (volunteer) and maintain a great friendship of 20+ years with a police officer.

Michelle
      Lady

Yes…25 years in Florida.

No, not employed in law enforcement.

Alice

Emily Alt
      Managing Ambassador

No.  But my work in IT occasionally brings me in contact with local law enforcement, FBI, and DHS.

Emily

Speaking of interesting polls, Mina?  Where did that come from?  Ironically, years ago, I read something that suggested some correlation between LE and crossdressing.  But, the small number of yes votes, thus far, might contradict that assertion.  During my thirty-years, I worked undercover for four.  It was kind of fun playing a role, but I can’t say that there is a link with CD.  My career (1973-2002) covered a period during which LE went through a lot of changes.  Size standards went by the way, more women and minorities entered the field, and technology advanced our potential for efficiency while it often undermined our humanity.  For the most part, however, even some of the best I worked with, struggled with a propensity to judge and/or discriminate.  You can teach servants how to enforce, but it is very difficult to make an enforcer a servant!

FAM

Anonymous

Hi FAM,