Viewing 9 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

So!

I was looking at pictures of ladies on another (Tasteful. Honest!) site, and I realized that there was an aesthetic that I had been seeking to grok for several years. I have tried out ‘male femininity’. Where you look at a person and think that they are very likely male but it doesn’t matter because she is feminine and attractive and a pleasant lady.

This one is middle-aged, a newbie in the intern community, I think, heavy features but even and pleasant, athletic figure (lucky girl) with slim, but defined muscularity, probably tall, broadish shoulders and long but slightly lanky hair. She wore a cotton LBD with a 5-buckle heel. A bit Goth but not necessarily so. No cosmetics and a bit might have been transformative. A modest but effective curvature in the bosom.

It worked, though. I was struck by her posture and expression in various shots of her, apparently, first photos. These suggested several things.

That she was on the verge (cross-dress re-manifested after a break-up, depression and the advent of Amazon) of a Great Big Journey and that I envied her so much was one take-away.

If she was still depressed she managed to hide it under a modest smile of inexpressible joy.

As far as I could see she was a delightful and attractive lady perhaps because she didn’t so much hide the masculinity of her anatomy as to more productively adorn it in a manner that let her femininity radiate.

This does not answer many questions. It is apparent that the term ‘male femininity’ is highly variable. I feel I might have identified an experience many of us share.

So, is ‘male femininity’ a thing?

Araminta.

Anonymous

Araminta,

Yes, I absolutely believe it’s a thing.  It’s the root of this spectrum we are often talking about.

How many of us, transitioning or not, have always felt that we were more than just the male we were raised?  That there’s always been this part of us that was the other gender?