Viewing 5 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

Hi ladies

so my grandmother has just measured my chest for me, and the sizes are as follows

Band size – 46 bust size – 51

so would anyone be able to shed some light on what I would need to buy, it’s come through as 46DD but seems to big for me

thanks

nicole xx

i am no expert on bra sizing, most of what i’ve learned about bra sizing comes from the breast form store.

But now that you have the bra band size , you can then decide on the size of boobs you want.  If your chest size is already 51, and you are looking for big boobs than a DD will work.  If you want to size down then maybe an A or AA will be better; but that will be up to you to see what will work.

That is kinda how I figured out the size of boobs I want after knowing my bra band and chest size.

Hi

I don’t have any breast forms, that is the size of my chest as it is, I’m a big guy, so would you think 46DD is correct

thanks

Nicole xx

Hi Nicole,

What a wonderful grandmother you have to help with the measuring!  Now to your question.

Since a CD usually has broad shoulders a measurement above the bust under your arms may provide  a better estimate of your band size.  As your grandmother did, subtracting the chest measurement from the bust measurement each inch is a increasing cup size.  1 inch is an A cup

2 a B cup; 3 a C cup; 4 a D cup and 5 a DD or E cup.

Not all bras fit as we would like.  So be sure to try on a bra when bra shopping.  Adjust the straps too.

Alice

Hi

the measurements that she did are

chest 51”

above bust 46”

below bust 47”

Thanks

Nicole xx

Hi Nicole,

Sounds like a 46 band size should work.  Some bands can be exceedingly tight so be sure to try on your bra.  The four inch difference would be a DD cup size.

If you have a Lane Bryant or Torrid near you they are CD friendly.  And both will help with a bra fitting.  Don’t be shy about asking!

Alice

Emily Alt
      Managing Ambassador