Viewing 17 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

Good evening, you bunch of wonderful humans..

I hope you’re all well and are managing to negotiate this (surprisingly more common than I’d have guessed..) wonderful, fabulous, sometimes confusing  path we’re all skipping along!

I don’t think I’ve posted in these forums before, but I need to get something off my chest. Writing it down seemed like the best way, so here I am. Aren’t you all lucky! 🙂

I’m not sure what I need from you all, maybe I just need to vent. Mmmmmmm, no. I need some input from you girls. If you have thoughts on this, do feel free to stick your oar in… If not, hope it’s not a rubbish read!

Brief back-story….. I’m Chloe, 41 years of age, Scottish but have been living in London for nearly a decade now. I’ve been dressing now for 5 or 6 years, on and off (if we forget my granny once catching me wearing my mum’s clothes in the middle of the night when I was 8 or 9 years old….). I’ve been through the DRESSUP/WEIRD-OUT/PURGE IT ALL/REPEAT cycle several times, like most of us, over the years.  This time I’ve realised that cycle won’t stop unless I get a grip… I’m trying to accept it all and my shoe collection now fills me with utter joy 🙂

A couple of months ago, I told my younger (by 7 years) sister about my love of dresses and girly stuff in general. Considered it for a long time before I did. It was hard.  One of the most nerve wracking things I’ve ever had to do but I told her and showed her a pic or 2. I felt a load lift off my shoulders afterwards. I knew it wouldn’t bother her, but she was unexpectedly fab about it all and made clear that she was totally fine with it. We’ve got on better than ever since that which is brilliant!  However…..