• This topic has 0 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated 4 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 0 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Anonymous

Bar Revenge.

An unimposing building with only a pink neon sign to advertise it’s presence.

A standard layout on the ground floor, high chairs around a central table which runs most of the length of the inside, with a small area around a small DJ booth for dancing at the end, a large sofa inside the door to the left, and staircase to the right, going up to a mezzanine and upper levels, with an additional bar.

I ordered a soft drink, and looked around for Luke. He wasn’t visible, so I went up the stairs to the upper bar, and was immediately invited to join a table by a guy who introduced himself as John, and his friends Mid and Jim.

I learned that John is a hairdresser, and he had plenty to say about my makeup and wig, and I took it all in good humour, pointing out that I am quite new to this. His GG friend, Mid said she thought I’d done a great job – we got on really well.

Jim originates from the far North of Scotland, and was clearly a little the worse for wear from drinking, but told his story, and how hard it was to be a young gay man in Scotland.

After hearing a little bit of John and Mid’s stories – both are gay, but good friends, they became very interested in my story, which I was happy to relate and expand on when questioned.

Jim was surprised, and said it must be even more difficult for a married, heterosexual man in Tory central, England (I live in Theresa May’s constituency) than for a gay man in the far North of Scotland!

I told them it was nearly my birthday, and bought a round of drinks. I loved their faces when I told them it was my 55th!

We talked about all manner of things, the banter flowing easily – they quickly twigged that I quite like jokes about men in dresses, and no-one was over sensitive about anything, no subject taboo, and I had a fantastic time.