Viewing 2 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author
      Anonymous

hello all,

I am a complete beginner when it comes to makeup. I have watched a lot of videos on how to apply makeup and it seems complicated and time consuming. For those of you that have experience, what do you do for makeup and how long do you take. I also need to figure out a basic kit to start with. Any recommendations?

thanks

Hi Rachel,  The fun of being a woman is the time to primp and make yourself look beautiful.  I love doing makeup I can do it in about 60 minutes or if I am enjoying it and have the time 2 hours or more.  Depends on what I am doing.  First you need to use a good foundation and if you have a beard shadow you need a good concealer or beard cover.  I use covergirl makeup since the start and I love it the few cheap off brands I have used do not work as well and you will tell it later after you get to know your makeup.  Practice is the most important part.  If you have watched the videos you know the techniques and it just takes time to learn them.  I use a concealer for my bearded area.  Then a light foundation over my entire face and blend it down the neck and into the chest if I am going to go low cleavage.  I use a powder to set the foundation it makes it stay a lot better.  Then I use a covergirl instant cheek bone the light color for my darker area like under the eyes and in the mouth creases.  Then the middle for a very light brushing over my face.  Then the dark for just a little more color on the cheek bones to make them pop.

After that I put on my false eye lashes or just mascara depends on my level of makeup.  Eyeshadow, eyeliner, eyebrow pencil and lipstick that about raps it up.  If I want a fancy look the eyes can take 30 minutes or longer and a quick look for everyday can be as quick as about 5 minutes.   I found the hardest for me to find the right color and look was the eyebrows.  I am still working on them.