Tagged: 

Viewing 20 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

So, I’m teaching a diversity class at the Uni where I work and I’m planning to do some lectures en femme. This got me thinking about the kinds of things students might ask, as well as all the different “ways” people have of experimenting with gender norms and boundaries. As a social science teacher, I have a tendency to classify and define more than most. I’ve been thinking about how I perceive and label the different ways of gender bending, but thought it would be interesting to get some feedback and explore how others think about and experience this.

So, I’ll start here by sharing a few different terms that have floated around over the years, and welcome any other terms or ways of thinking about and experiencing what we all share here.

Transvestite – an older term that applies to someone who always (or nearly always dresses in opposite gender clothing), we tend to refer to these ladies as “full time” on CDH

Transsexual – a person who has had medical treatment to change their body to more closely resemble the opposite gender (surgery, HRT, etc)

Drag queen – a person who dresses up in an exaggerated female manner for performance and entertainment purposes

Female impersonator – a male who dresses up to try and look like a specific (usually famous) woman for performance purposes (like someone dressing up like Brittany Spears and doing covers of her songs and acts in concert, for example).

Crossdresser – someone who wears clothing associated with the opposite sex, with varying degrees of frequency, but usually temporarily, often as a hobby

Non-binary – a person who does not feel like they fit perfectly, 100% into the standard cultural male/female dichotomy of their culture, they may present as one gender or the other, or switch between, or mix and match different elements of style, presentation, interests, hobbies, mannerisms, etc.