• This topic has 35 replies, 32 voices, and was last updated 2 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 29 reply threads
New Forums
  • Author

I have been crossdressing for around 10 years now and I enjoy doing it. I like myself more when I’m dressed as a girl. I just don’t know if I’m trans or want to be trans. One of the things I’ve always wanted to do is grow my hair really long so I can braid it. I just feel like if I do that then I might end up becoming girly all the time no matter what and I don’t know if I want that. If you have some advice please help me.

BillieJay
      Managing Ambassador

I don’t see anything “wrong with you” but I don’t know you well…

my recommendation is to find a “big city” within a decent range of you, and find a therapist/counselor who is friendly to LGBTQ issues to share with.

on this site we don’t have any licensed therapists, we are a peer support site, and as such we are unqualified to diagnose “what’s wrong”, but we are good at commiserating.

Stevie Steiner
      Managing Ambassador

Hi Alexis!  I read where you say you enjoy yourself, and are happy with yourself when dressed.

No, I am certainly no therapist, but why must being happy with yourself be “wrong”?   So many people go through their whole lives not being happy with themselves.  Yes, it is definitely something you should investigate and deal with through therapy if necessary,  but I think it’s jumping the gun to label yourself as “wrong”!

Anonymous

If you don’t think you are “trans”, then chances are you are not. You don’t “become trans”. It is not like rooting for one team and then just deciding to start rooting for another.
      And please beware of anybody here or in your everyday life who will try to tell you “you are this or that”. That’s something you and only you can decide/find out.

Why not just try growing your hair long? Many men do it. A lot of men look good with braided hair and it works for both genders.